2015

2015 is nearly over. I think it’s flown by and I wish I could relive it over (and over) again! So much has happened over the last year and I’ve never felt so inspired musically before.

Firstly, I’ve managed to (finally) set up this blog. As an aspiring music journalist I wanted to talk about my musical experiences to and with people who care about music instead of just those who politely put up with it just because they’re being nice (although I’m eternally grateful to those who do). I’ve spent the last 18 months contemplating creating this blog and earlier this year I went for it at a point where I felt I’d experienced the epitome of incredible musical experiences – an All Time Low concert in London. Looking back on it now, it probably wasn’t as incredible as I’d first thought! This blog has allowed me to appreciate music on a different level.

This year I’ve watched 105 music sets (support bands, festival acts, brand new bands at record store shows etc.), been to 2 festivals and 16 concerts and I’ve never felt so inspired before.

The musical highlight of the year, for me, was (maybe obviously) Glastonbury festival. I’ve never been so amazed and overwhelmed before by music. There was something so incredibly significant about the whole weekend that I can’t even begin to describe (I’d be lying if I said I didn’t cry on the way home/during Lionel Richie). The whole experience was so iconic that it shifted the way I look at music and experience it on the whole. The highlight of the whole entire festival- and the year- was Florence and the Machine’s headlining set. I (previously skeptically) love Florence and the Machine and had been fascinated by Florence Welch’s stage presence. I was excited to see Foo Fighters at Glastonbury but had never been that familiar with their music. When Grohl broke his leg I, like everyone else, eagerly anticipated the announcement of another headliner. Florence seemed a perhaps not obvious choice to some but her set epitomised Glastonbury and my whole entire weekend. Florence is an artist who is the product of festivals like Glastonbury and she only seemed natural and at home there. Not only was it incredibly special to see a female headline a hugely iconic festival (which shouldn’t, really, be that surprising, yet it sadly is- but that’s a whole other story), her presence was mesmerising and encapsulating. She, like the audience, became consumed by the moment and it felt so intimate- despite the literal tens of thousands of people there to watch it. There was something even spiritual about it that I’d not experienced at anything similar before. There were plenty of other notable sets at the festival- Catfish and the Bottlemen, Lionel Richie, Kanye West (to name a few)- but this was on a totally different scale.

Asides from Glastonbury, I’ve been lucky enough to meet some of my musical heroes this year- Catfish and the Bottlemen and Matty and George from The 1975. Which is always a really strange experience (but restores my faith in the niceness of those who front the headline bands of the future). As well as this, I’ve been fortunate enough to see some of my favourite bands play in the tiniest of venues- thanks to Banquet Records. Where I’d be without them I don’t know! I’ve also been to Reading Festival (another significant place to me) which was, again, incredible.

I started the year listening to loads of Peace, The Wombats and The Vaccines whilst still being into bits of “pop-punk” music- like All Time Low and Fall Out Boy. This summer can be summed up with the artists Catfish and the Bottlemen, George Ezra (don’t get me started on George Ezra’s Glastonbury set which I literally watched at least once a day on the BBC iPlayer for about a month), James Bay and Hozier (not forgetting spending the whole 12 weeks of summer holidays I had trying to learn all the lyrics to Jamie T’s “Sticks n’ Stones”- I did it). The last few months can be summed up with The Libertines, Wolf Alice and The 1975. However, I’ve also been listening, throughout the year, to a lot of newer artists like Rat Boy, Sundara Karma, The Sherlocks and The Japanese House (all of which I’m almost certain will be huge next year- a follow up post will happen on this hopefully).

I’m really excited to see where this blog goes next year. I’ve been really lucky this year. There’s so many undiscovered bands that I can’t wait to uncover over the next year and hopefully bring to you through this blog. I’m also excited to see (hopefully) many more greater known bands and artists (and those lesser known too!) as well as to attend a few more festivals and events. I can’t wait for the release of so many upcoming albums- like The 1975’s in February- and to see the inevitable reunions and disbanding over the next year.

Have an amazing new year, see you in 2016.

2015

Leave a Reply

