October Playlist- What I’m listening to

Ahhh October.

What a month it’s been. I’ve seen bands like Peace, Swim Deep and Rat Boy live, The 1975 have made their return with “Love Me” and the Mercury Prize award nominees have been announced.

This months playlist includes songs by many of the artists I’ve seen this month, like Peace, but also artists who I’m seeing in up and coming months. I’ve recently booked tickets to see Wolf Alice next year and I’m very excited- hence the Wolf Alice songs! Wolf Alice’s “My Love is Cool”  has been nominated for a Mercury Prize Award along with other amazing albums, like Slaves’ “Are you Satisfied?” and Florence and the Machine’s latest album “How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful” and many others. I’m excited to see who will win the award as the nominees are great.

Also there’s a few Swim Deep songs from their latest album, Mothers, on the playlist because I’ve really been enjoying it this month following it’s release. I’ve been lucky enough to see Swim Deep twice this month and so it’s been a month of perfecting new lyrics and rediscovering old favourites.

There’s also a few songs from Arctic Monkeys “”AM” on there because I remembered how much I loved it in the car this morning. Arctic Monkeys are one of my favourite bands and I often listen to their older material but I hadn’t listened to AM (in full) in what felt like ages.

But, perhaps most importantly, The 1975 have released “Love Me”. This is a huge talking point as it challenges pop culture and how we view “pop music”. It’s trying to redefine what is “pop” and challenge it. The 1975 have been teasing new music since June 1st this year and earlier on this month they released “Love Me” from their album released next year called “I Like it When You Sleep For You Are so Beautiful Yet so Unaware of it” (try saying that fast). The song and album details were released during an interview with Annie Mac on BBC Radio 1. It’s not often that I find a song that makes me want to dance and parade around my room singing… But Love Me is one of those songs! It’s been on repeat since it’s release. It’s an incredible piece of 80s laced pop music which intertwines catchy (and clever) lyrics with current issues. My favourite a reference to “Karcrashian”. I think there was a Love Me shaped hole in the music industry and I’m excited as to what the rest of the album will be like!

“We’ve just come to represent a decline in the standards of what we accept”

You can find the video here

The video in itself is exciting and interesting. It challenges what we know and think now about pop music and music videos and how we see celebrities and celebrity culture. What I find particularly interesting is the use of celebrity cardboard cut outs, which could easily have been replaced by the real people, in the video. They could represent a persona put on by “celebrities” and the fake-ness (often seen or thought of) of pop stars and celebrities. The way we refuse to accept what we’re given and lack a real culture.  Healy adds, in an email set out to the mailing list, that we also have a “lack of understanding of the world we are immersed in” and that too many artists “care what others think”- perhaps explaining the cardboard cutouts further. It’s incredibly shot and directed by Diane Martel (incidentally, she directed videos like Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines” and Miley Cyrus’ “We Can’t Stop” in recent years among many others) and continues the pink theme held by the band throughout the last few months. Matt Healy even wears blue eyeshadow- what more could you want!

Finally, I am so excited about next month and what’s to come in terms of concerts and music! I’m seeing bands like Imagine Dragons, Catfish and the Bottlemen (which I am so excited about and my sister doesn’t know we’re going yet- it’s a Christmas present), The Vaccines and The 1975. I anticipate to blog these experiences and hopefully will be able to start featuring new bands that I’ve discovered too. In the mean time, you should listen to the playlist of what I’ve listened to this month and hopefully enjoy it.

October Playlist- What I’m listening to

Leave a Reply

