September 2015- What I’m listening to

September.

So far (and it’s nearly over) it’s been, personally, an extremely busy month of trying to balance going to a new college, work and general life, but we’re getting there!

This month has seen some exciting record releases from the likes of The Libertines (after 11 years) and has seen the main British summer festival season drawn to a close with Bestival, on the Isle of Wight. We’ve seen the push back of the new Swim Deep album, to the 2nd of October, and I’ve experienced, and survived, the aftermath of Reading Festival- luckily without having to battle the dreaded cold this year (just the hideous mood swings and odd emotional outbursts).

This month’s music playlist is influenced, of course, by what I saw at Reading. I’ve been super into Wolf Alice this month as I saw them at Reading (twice) and thought they were brilliant. I love how their music is so diverse and contrasts and challenges the way we view of female fronted bands in the industry. I’ve also been into bands like Tame Impala and Little Comets. I’ve also been listening to a lot of Rat Boy and Jamie T (both of which I saw at Reading) .

I’ve also been really into newer bands like Sundara Karma and Broken Hands. Both of which are brilliant and definitely worth a listen to. I hope to introduce some sort of “new band” post each month at some point as there’s so many brilliant ones about at the moment.

But the month has been mostly filled with The Libertines. The new album- Anthems for Doomed Youth- came out this month and I think it’s an amazingly crafted album which I’ve been enjoying. I’ve also been listening to lot of their older material too following their Reading and Leeds headline set!

Finally, October is going to be incredible I hope. It’s a busy month musically for me. There’s the new Swim Deep album to look forward to and also bands like Nothing But Thieves are releasing their debut album. As well as this, I’ve got a stint of concerts to look forward to- from Swim Deep and Peace to Fall Out Boy and Rat Boy- which will, no doubt, be getting reviewed. Also, there’s whatever The 1975 are going to release in just under two weeks time. I’m excited.

I hope you enjoy the playlist and I look forward to seeing what October brings musically.

September 2015- What I’m listening to

Leave a Reply

